Carona

Villages

Carona is a charming village located at the foot of the Monte San Salvatore, on a hill above Lugano. It prides itself in an exceptional historic and artistic heritage: the richness of the outstanding religious buildings are almost equal in quality to the many dwellings from the past. These are evidence of the work of local craftsmen (architects, decorators, painters and sculptors) that, between the 15th and 18th centuries worked all over Europe leaving a trace of their mastery along the way. Returning to their birthplace they would embellish their villages with fine buildings and prestigious decorations.

PROMO

Itinerary: Carona (3h, see map)


Carona's roots can be traced back to a distant past. Already in the Middle Ages it had acquired a certain renown, as shown by the construction of the Torello church by a Bishop of Como. A walk through the village allows you to admire part of this historical legacy. At Carona's Northern entrance you will find the parish church dedicated to the Holy Saints Giorgio e Andrea, a Renaissance building preserving precious frescoes. Next to the church you will see the beautiful 16th-century communal loggia.

Strolling through the little alleys you can admire different buildings and noble houses with well-preserved graffiti, stuccoes and frescoes. Just outside the city centre stands the church of Santa Marta (usually closed), that belonged to the namesake congregation. From here, a little trail leads to the Baroque sanctuary of the Madonna d'Ongero, peacefully located in the woods. Still a destination for pilgrims today, the church is finely decorated. Along the access road, a series of chapels of the Via Crucis welcome visitors.

Following the indicated trail, in some 20 minutes you can reach the Romanesque church of Santa Maria di Torello built under the instructions of the Bishop of Como Guglielmo della Torre in 1217 and which used to have an adjacent convent. The property, now transformed into a farm, is private and cannot be visited. A place of astonishing beauty, where you can still admire the imposing building decorated with a number of fine details, such as the gate and some fresco remains.

In the summer, Carona is equipped with a pleasant public pool immersed in the hill's green woods. For those of you that enjoy walking, we recommend an agreeable stroll from Carona to the Alpe Vicania through the San Grato Park that offers some superb panoramic views on the bay of Lugano.

PROMO

Restaurants nearby


To complete your day

Carona

Villages

Carona est un village pittoresque situé au pied du mont San Salvatore, sur une colline au-dessus de Lugano. Il vante un patrimoine historique et artistique exceptionnel: la richesse des prestigieux édifices religieux rivalise avec la beauté de nombreuses demeures anciennes, qui témoigne du savoir-faire de la main-d’œuvre locale. Architectes, décorateurs, peintres et sculpteurs régionaux travaillèrent en toute Europe, entre le 15e et le 18e siècle, et laissèrent partout le signe de leur habilité. Rentrés chez eux, ils embellirent leurs villages avec des constructions et des décorations prestigieuses.

PROMO

Itinéraire: Carona (3h, voir la carte)


Carona offre une histoire qui plonge ses racines dans un passé lointain. Déjà au Moyen Âge le village avait une certaine importance, comme le montre la construction de l’église Torello par un évêque de Côme. Une promenade permet d’admirer une partie de ce patrimoine historique. À l’entrée nord de Carona on aperçoit avant tout l’église paroissiale dédiée à Saint Georges et à Saint André, construction de la Renaissance qui abrite des fresques admirables. À côté de l’église se situe la remarquable loggia communale du 16e siècle.

En se promenant dans les petites ruelles on peut admirer différents édifices, ainsi que les demeures de la noblesse, riches en inscriptions, moulures et fresques. Juste en dehors du centre-ville s’élève l’église Santa Marta (habituellement fermée), qui appartenait à la confrérie homonyme. De là, un petit sentier mène au sanctuaire baroque de la Madonna d’Ongero, dans un endroit boisé et calme, et à l’église qui, richement décorée, est encore aujourd’hui une destination de pèlerinage. Une série de chapelles de la Via Crucis accueille les visiteurs tout au long de la voie d’accès.

En suivant le sentier indiqué, une vingtaine de minutes suffisent pour rejoindre l’admirable église romane Santa Maria de Torello, qui, construite en 1217 sous les instructions de l’évêque de Côme, Guglielmo della Torre, était autrefois flanquée d’un couvent. La propriété, transformée récemment en ferme, est privée et n’est pas ouverte au public. Néanmoins, l’endroit est d’une grande beauté et on peut toujours admirer l’imposante construction et ses décorations si riches de détails, comme le portail et certains restes de fresques.

L’été, Carona est dotée d’une plaisante piscine publique, immergée dans les bois verdoyants de la colline. À ne pas manquer, pour les passionnés de la marche, l’agréable promenade qui part de Carona et mène à l’Alpe Vicania, en passant par le parc botanique San Grato, et qui offre une vue magnifique sur la baie de Lugano.

PROMO

Restaurants dans les alentours


Pour compléter la journée