Meride

Villages

The pleasant hills and picturesque roof-tiled villages of the Mendrisiotto region vaguely recall Tuscany. In this striking landscape, the most delightful, intact and best preserved village is certainly Meride, with compact and stern medieval structures and little alleys that branch out from the narrow main street. Above the village is the Monte San Giorgio, a UNESCO World Heritage site, which is renowned for the fossils that have been found, over 200 million years old, and for the modern museum presenting the paleontological heritage of the region.

The visit


"The village of Meride preserves many traces of a glorious past. Walking along the one main street, you are faced with a harmonious conglomeration of houses, some very old, of regional and national importance. Elegant gates from the 1500s, spacious courtyards and breezy loggias supported by columns made from Saltrio stone, offer a valuable and noble perspective." With these words, published on a large information panel, the commune welcomes its visitors.

The village's sumptuousness is a result of a migratory legacy, a century-old tradition that trained Meride natives to be excellent artisans: the famous Mastri. It's quite surprising that a small village such as Meride knew how to feed such a significant and dense flow of artistic emigration. The village was in fact home to numerous artists and academics. They were sculptors, painters and stucco craftsmen who, leaving Mendrisiotto, participated in the "construction" of Europe presenting their works in Italy, France, Germany, Poland and all the way to Saint Petersburg. They worked in European cities in the summer and would return to their hometown in the winter to build their own homes by using the skills they acquired abroad.

The houses in Meride are horizontally aligned along a narrow main road, the backbone of the village. Behind the high walls and solid portals that face the street dedicated to Bernhard Peyer (discoverer of the San Giorgio fossils), a maze of roofs, loggias and courtyards that were once connected to each other from the interior, are concealed. A network of alleys delineates the medieval heart of the historic centre, housing the important and modern Museum of Fossils of Monte San Giorgio.

Halfway down the main street, in front of the church of San Rocco (17th century) is a little square that enjoys a beautiful view of the vast plateau that spreads out from the foot of the village with broad stretches of vineyards, orchards, gardens and corn and wheat fields. On a slight ridge west of the village, rises the gracious little church of San Silvestro (16th century), surrounded by a small cemetery. Inside the church the walls are covered in frescoes depicting the life of San Silvestro, work of local painter Francesco Antonio Giorgioli (1655-1725).

Restaurants nearby


To complete your day

Meride

Villages

Les douces collines et les hameaux pittoresques aux toits en tuiles du Mendrisiotto rappellent vaguement la Toscane. Dans ce paysage idyllique, le village le plus gracieux, le plus intact et le mieux conservé est certainement Meride, avec sa structure médiévale compacte et sévère, ainsi que ses ruelles qui se ramifient à partir de l’étroite rue principale. Au-dessus du village s’élève le Monte San Giorgio, patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, célèbre pour ses fossiles datant de plus de 200 millions d’années, et pour le moderne musée (abrité dans le cœur médiéval de Meride) qui expose l’héritage paléontologique de la région.

PROMO

La visite


« Le village de Meride conserve de nombreuses traces d’un passé glorieux. En se promenant le long de l’unique rue principale, on découvre une harmonieuse agglomération de maisons, certaines très anciennes, d’importance régionale et nationale. Les élégants portails du 15e siècle, ainsi que les cours spacieuses et les loggias aérées, soutenues de colonnes en pierre de Saltrio, offrent une perspective d’une rare noblesse. »
C’est avec ces mots, imprimés sur un grand panneau que la petite commune accueille ses visiteurs. La somptuosité du village est le résultat d’un héritage séculaire de la tradition migratoire, qui a formé d’excellents artisans: les Mastri. Il est surprenant qu’un village comme Meride ait su entretenir un flux si important et dense d’émigration artistique. Le bourg fût en effet la patrie de nombreux artistes et hommes de lettres. Il s’agit de sculpteurs, peintres et plâtriers qui, partis de Mendrisio, ont contribué à la « construction » de l’Europe, travaillant en Italie, en France, en Allemagne, en Pologne, jusqu’à Saint Petersbourg. L’été ils travaillaient dans les villes européennes et l’hiver ils rentraient dans leur village d’origine pour construire leurs propres habitations, comme ils l’avaient appris pendant leurs séjours à l’étranger.

Les maisons de Meride s’alignent le long d’une rue principale très étroite, véritable épine dorsale du village. Derrière les hautes enceintes et les portails solides qui surplombent l’avenue dédiée à Bernhard Peyer (l’homme qui découvrit les fossiles du Monte San Giorgio), se cache un labyrinthe de toits, de loggias et de cours qui étaient autrefois liées les unes aux autres par l’intérieur. Un réseau de ruelles circonscrit le cœur médiéval du centre historique, qui abrite le renommé et moderne Musée des fossiles du Monte San Giorgio.

À mi-chemin de la rue principale, devant l’église San Rocco du 17e siècle, on débouche sur une charmante petite place, qui offre une vue spectaculaire sur le vaste plateau. Ce dernier s’étend au pied du village avec d’amples étendues de vignobles, de vergers, de jardins potagers, de champs de blé et de maïs. Sur un petit promontoire à l’ouest du village se dresse l’élégante église San Silvestro. Cet édifice religieux, entouré d’un petit cimetière, date du 16e siècle. À l’intérieur, les parois sont recouvertes de fresques racontant la vie de Saint Sylvestre, réalisées par le peintre local Francesco Antonio Giorgioli (1655-1725).

PROMO

Restaurants dans les alentours


Pour compléter la journée