Bosco Gurin

Villages

Bosco Gurin, in the Maggia Valley, is Ticino's highest altitude village (1500m) and the only one where a German dialect is spoken. In fact, a small Walser community lives here whose ancestors came from the German-speaking part of the Valais Canton in the 13th century to colonize these mountainous lands. Beyond the language, even the architecture of the wooden houses and the torbe recall the Walser origins, while evidence of this civilization so well-adapted to the high-altitude lifestyle can be found in the little museum.

PROMO

The visit


The traces left by the Walser settlers in Bosco Gurin, who arrived in the 13th century after crossing the Guriner-Furka Pass, are identifiable in a number of buildings when walking through the village's narrow streets. To better organize your visit it is recommended to pick-up a "Bosco Gurin e i Walser" booklet available (only in Italian or German)) at the tourist agency in Maggia (the entire collection of "Sentieri di pietra" - Stone Trails - are offered for free outside the office).

Walking through the village's little alleyways you will notice numerous graffiti-decorated buildings, works of Hans Anton Tomamichel. This artist, born in Bosco Gurin in 1899, moved to Zurich at the age of 15, where he later became a successful graphic designer.

One of Bosco Gurin's main distinctive traits is the torba, of which only about fifteen remain. "The torba – so describes the booklet mentioned above - is a wooden construction built on a plinth of masonry which usually housed the stable or storage. The wooden bit is isolated by a given number of stone 'mushrooms', composed of a stem (wood or masonry), frequently topped by a roughly rounded granite plate to hinder mice from reaching the wheat stall. The stall was the safest place to preserve different products such as rye and barley, protecting them from humidity and, as mentioned earlier, from rodents."

Another distinctive trait of the Walsers are the so-called Gadumdschi, buildings with dry-laid stonewall and stone-tiled roofs, without a door and that were used as barns. Many examples can be seen at the outskirts of the village. There are numerous stables. The most ancient ones, with a wooden upper part and a stone base, are located behind the church dedicated to the Holy Saints Giacomo e Cristoforo, sanctified in 1252 and restored multiple times.

You shouldn't leave the village without visiting the Ethnographic Museum where objects and testimonials are collected giving a glimpse into the living conditions of the past.

PROMO


To complete your day

Bosco Gurin

Villages

Bosco Gurin, dans la Vallée Maggia, est le plus haut village du Tessin avec ses 1500m d’altitude. C’est le seul endroit du Canton où l’on entend aussi un dialecte alémanique, parlé par une petite communauté Walser dont les ancêtres, provenant du Haut-Valais (Walliser), colonisèrent ce lieu montagneux au 13e siècle. En plus de la langue, l’architecture des chalets et des tourbes rappelle les origines Walser. Un petit musée abrite les autres témoignages de cette société qui s’adapta si adroitement à la vie en altitude. À ne pas manquer les nombreuses inscriptions sur les maisons ainsi que l’église.

PROMO

La visite


Les colonisateurs Walser, arrivés au 13e siècle par le col de la Guriner Furka, laissèrent une empreinte encore visible actuellement sur plusieurs constructions que l’on voit en se promenant dans les étroites ruelles du village. Pour organiser la visite au mieux, il est conseillé de se munir de la brochure « Bosco Gurin... e i Walser », disponible à l’office du tourisme de Avegno (qui fournit gratuitement toute la collection "Sentieri di pietra").

Se promener le long des ruelles du village donne l’occasion d’admirer les graffitis de Hans Anton Tomamichel, qui décorent les façades de nombreux édifices. Né à Bosco Gurin en 1899, cet artiste emménagea à l’âge de 15 ans à Zurich, où il connut un grand succès en tant que graphiste.

L’une des principales caractéristiques Bosco Gurin est la torba, dont il reste encore une quinzaine d’exemplaires. «La torba – explique la brochure mentionnée plus haut – est une construction en bois bâtie sur un socle de maçonnerie, qui abritait habituellement l’étable ou la réserve. La partie en bois est séparée de la base par un certain nombre de pierres ‘champignons’, composées à partir d’un pied (en bois ou en maçonnerie), souvent surmonté par une dalle en granit, arrondie grossièrement pour empêcher les rongeurs d’atteindre le grenier à blé.»

Un autre trait distinctif Walser sont les soi-disant Gadumdschi, d’anciens fenils au toit en dalles, sans portes, construits en utilisant la technique des murs à sec. On en trouve plusieurs exemplaires aux alentours du village ainsi que dans de nombreuses étables. Les plus anciennes, avec la partie supérieure en bois et la base en pierre, sont situées derrière l’église dédiée aux saints Jacques et Christophe, consacrée en 1253 et restaurée à plusieurs reprises.

Le Musée ethnographique est une étape incontournable qu’il serait dommage de manquer. Les objets et les témoignages du passé qui y sont réunis permettent d’imaginer les conditions de vie d’autrefois.

PROMO


Pour compléter la journée