Swissminiatur

Experience

At Melide's Swissminiatur, close to Lugano, you can visit Switzerland... in an hour. In the short while, enough for a walk in a blossoming park with over 1500 plants, you can admire the Swiss Confederation's most representative monuments and places: castles, historic buildings, churches, cathedrals, squares, rustic houses, railways, mountains and lakes. Everything rigorously rebuilt in a 1:25 scale. The biggest outdoor museum of miniatures in Switzerand, on a 14,000 square meter surface, offers 128 miniature models and a dense railway network with 18 trains and over 3,500 meters of tracks.

PROMO

The visit


It's truly fascinating to enter the miniature world of Swiss railway history: a network of 3,560 meters of miniature railways winds through the park and 18 trains run on the tracks. You can watch the boats floating on the lakes; admire the cable cars and funiculars ascending and descending the mountains; glimpse at the cars rushing by on the freeways; while planes are preparing to take off at Zurich airport!

In Melide there are 128 models, in the rare 1:25 scale, of the most famous buildings, monuments and means of transport in Switzerland. The miniatures, faithfully reproduced in detail, include the Rapperswil Castle, the Chillon Castle and the Bellinzona Castles, the Parliament Building of Bern and the Piazza Grande of Locarno.

Every year tourists from around the world visit this park located on the banks of Lake Ceresio (from Lugano it is also easily accessible by boat or by train) and surrounded by mountains including Monte Generoso, San Salvatore and San Giorgio (the latter is a UNESCO World Heritage Site).

"Ours is a family business - explains Director Joël Vuigner -. It was the idea of my grandfather, inspired by the Madurodam a similar park in Holland. To choose the location of the park he went all over Switzerland in search of the perfect match. In the end, their attention was brought to Melide, also thanks to the extraordinary landscape between lake and mountains. At the beginning, in 1959 - continues Vuigner - there were 10-12 models and the visitors were mostly Italian tourists coming to Switzerland to shop. Little by little, the offer grew and by the 1980s there were already around 100 models. Today, we are equipped with 128 miniature modes, a thick railway network, lakes, bridges, freeways, cable cars and funiculars. A precision manual work, faithful to the original and carried out with great passion in the Swissminiatur laboratories."

PROMO

Restaurants nearby


To complete your day

Fermeture hivernale (novembre - mars)

Swissminiatur

Expériences

A la Suisse miniature de Melide, près de Lugano, on peut visiter la Suisse... en une heure! Le temps d’une promenade dans un parc fleuri composé de plus de 1500 plantes, l’on peut admirer les monuments et les lieux plus significatifs de la Confédération Helvétique: châteaux, demeures historiques, églises, cathédrales, places, habitations rustiques, voies ferrées, montagnes et lacs. Le tout rigoureusement construit à une échelle de 1:25. Le musée à ciel ouvert de miniatures plus grand de Suisse propose, sur une surface de 14 mille mètres carrés, 128 modèles réduits et un réseau ferroviaire dense avec 18 trains et plus de 3500m de rails.

PROMO

La visite


Plonger dans le monde en miniature de l'histoire des chemins de fer suisses est vraiment fascinant: un réseau de 3560 m de chemins de fer miniatures serpente à travers le parc et 18 trains circulent sur les voies. On admire les bateaux naviguer sur les lacs, les téléphériques et funiculaires monter et descendre des montagnes, et les automobiles foncer sur les autoroutes, tandis qu'à l'aéroport de Zurich-Kloten les avions s'apprètent à décoller.

À Melide, il y a 128 modèles, à l'échelle assez rare 1:25, des bâtiments, monuments et moyens de transport les plus célèbres de Suisse. Parmi les miniatures présentes, fidèlement reproduites en détail, figurent le château de Rapperswil, le château de Chillon et les châteaux de Bellinzone, le palais fédéral de Berne et la Piazza Grande de Locarno.

Chaque année, des touristes venant du monde entier visitent ce parc situé sur les bords du Ceresio (de Lugano on peut facilement y arriver en bateau ou avec le train), entourés de montagnes comme le Monte Generoso, le San Salvatore et le San Giorgio (ce dernier considéré Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco)

“Nous gérons une entreprise familiale, raconte le directeur Joël Vuigner. Ce fut une idée de mon grand-père Pierre, inspiré par un projet similaire, le parc Madurodam en Hollande. Pour décider où le construire, il a parcouru toute la Suisse afin de trouver le lieu idéal. À la fin, le choix tomba sur Melide, grâce au paysage extraordinaire dont jouit ce village entre lac et montagnes. Au départ, en 1959 – poursuit Vuigner – il y avait 10-12 modèles construits sur place et les visiteurs étaient surtout des touristes italiens qui entraient en Suisse pour faire des achats. Peu à peu, l’offre s’est amplifiée et dans les années ’80 il y avait déjà une centaine de modèles réduits. Maintenant on peut admirer 128 miniatures, un dense réseau ferroviaire, lacs, ponts, autoroutes, téléphériques, funiculaires. Un travail manuel de précision, fidèle à l'original et réalisé avec une grande passion dans les laboratoires de Swissminiatur.”

PROMO

Restaurants dans les alentours


Pour compléter la journée