Giornico

Villages

Giornico is a village of Leventina Valley, famous for having been scenery to the Battle of Giornico (“Battaglia dei Sassi Grossi”) in 1478. This battle represents an important chapter for Swiss history, as it saw the Confederates prevail against the Milanesi and conquer the control over St. Gotthard. Crossed by a river that is divided in two, forming, this way, a bizarre islet, Giornico hides his most valuable treasure in what is the San Nicola Church, an important Roman testimony. Interesting to visit is also the Modern Ethnographic Museum, where the visitor, supported by interactive games, historic documentaries, and photographs is lead to ponder over the valley’s past.

PROMO

The important Battle of Giornico (“Battaglia dei Sassi Grossi”) is honoured with a monument of Ticino sculptor Apollonio Pessina and found at the northern entrance of the village. Divided in two by the cantonal road, the historic center of this town still preserves several medieval structures. The section at the top develops around the squared Tower Attone, from the fourteenth-century, that is boxed-in since many years, waiting to be restored. In the lower section of Giornico, between the road and the left riverbank, evidences of the ancient road are still visible.

Itinerary: Giornico (2h, see map)


Our itinerary develops in this section of the village and begins right in front of Casa Stanga and the adjacent Casa Clemente. Both are location to the Leventina Museum, where the valley’s history is presented through its objects and by putting the focus on man. These buildings represent an architectural complex of great historical and artistic interest.
Some coats of arms of distinguished travellers coming from all-over Europe are represented on the facades of Casa Stanga, that for centuries played the role of residence and tavern. These foreign travellers used to stay in Giornico during their wandering along the Via delle Genti (name given to the Gotthard Route in the past).

At the exit from the museum, take a turn on the left. Little further away you can find two ancient humpback bridges from where to enjoy a nice view over the home islet (also location to a picturesque grotto) formed by the ramification of the river in two branches.
Turn left once again and take the gracious little street – defined by the river on one side and by the vineyards on the other – that brings you in front of the church of San Nicola (12th century). Of an essential and rigorous architecture, among the most representative Roman testimonies on the Ticino soil, it stands out in the vineyards with its strong, simple and noble stone presence. Notable are also the door of the southern facade, with little sculptures, the main facade, the crypt with mysterious capitals, frescoes of the apse and the baptismal font at the entrance.

From the churchyard on a hill to the left beyond the railway you can see the striking church of Santa Maria del Castello (the keys to visit it can be picked up from the house at the foot of the hill towards the church, Via Altirolo 1, or from the parish priest). An important thing to look at is the northern chancel that was entirely frescoed in 1448. Only a few ruins of an ancient fortress, that once dominated the hill, are left next to the church.

Past San Nicola is the parish church dedicated to San Michele that preserves an interesting 16th century altar with door flaps of Nordic origin.

The region of Giornico is also known for its vineyards and its excellent wines. We recommend taking a short break in Rodai, at the southern entrance of the village (follow the street sign), where at the foot of the mountain rises a charming conglomeration of private grottos with beautiful arbours.

Museum of Leventina Valley


The permanent exhibit is located on the first floor and part of the second floor. It is characterised by its anthropological approach to the presented topics that lead the visitor along an interactive course. In the exhibit the topics of identity and rituals are covered through objects, videos and reproductions.

Listening to old vocal testimonials in half-darkness, to find oneself in Faido's Belle Epoque, to go through the amulets used for traveling, to read about the role of women in the old statute, as well as walking through a narrow corridor that opens onto a room dedicated to the arrival of the railway and, this way, gain consciousness about the economic restrictions of the Valley, are only some of the cues that bring back to life the historic course that shaped the Leventina Valley. The itinerary of the exhibit leads the visitor through questions whose answers are given by the presented objects of the museum's collection, all from Leventina Valley.
The visit ends on a panoramic terrace, where a beautiful view opens onto the valley, the river, the churches of San Michele and San Nicola. Following the visit of the museum this lookout-point offers you the opportunity to look at Leventina’s reality today with more awareness.

Of particular interest in the conference hall is a station, developed in collaboration with the Swiss-Italian Broadcasting Company (RSI) and with the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland (SUPSI) for research and visualization of audio-visual documents preserved in the RSI's archives and other digital material produced by the Leventina Museum. It is an innovative and quality offer, perfectly in line with the concept of interactive mediation that the museum wishes to offer to the public. In the museum shop you may buy local traditional products or you may sign-up for workshops or courses offered by the museum.

PROMO


To complete your day

Giornico

Villages

Giornico, village de la Vallée Leventina, est connu pour avoir été le théâtre de la "Battaglia dei Sassi Grossi” (Bataille des grosses Pierres) de 1478: une page importante de l’histoire suisse, qui marque la victoire des Confédérés sur les Milanais et la conquête du Saint-Gothard. Traversé par une rivière qui se ramifie en créant un curieux îlot, le village se distingue par son église San Nicola, un important témoignage d’architecture romane. À voir le moderne Musée ethnographique, où le visiteur est amené à réfléchir sur le passé de la vallée à l’aide de jeux interactifs, de documentaires historiques et de photographies.

PROMO

La "Battaglia dei Sassi Grossi” (Bataille des grosses Pierres) se termina par le triomphe des Confédérés sur les troupes milanaises à la fin de l’année 1478. Elle est commémorée par le monument du sculpteur tessinois Apollonio Pessina qui se trouve à l’entrée nord du village. L’ancien centre-ville, séparé en deux par la route cantonale, conserve plusieurs structures médiévales. La partie supérieure s’étend autour de la Tour Attone, avec une base carrée, qui remonte au XIVe siècle. Elle est recouverte d’échafaudages en attendant d’être restaurée. Dans la partie inférieure, comprise entre la route cantonale et la rive gauche de la rivière, on trouve encore les traces de l’ancienne rue.

Itinéraire: Giornico (2h, vedi cartina)


Notre itinéraire passe dans cette partie du village et commence en face de la Casa Stanga et de l’adjacente Casa Clementi. Il s’agit des deux sièges du Musée de Leventina, qui raconte l’histoire de la vallée à travers ses objets avec un regard anthropologique. Ces deux édifices constituent un complexe architectural de grand intérêt historique et artistique. Les façades de la Casa Stanga, qui servait pendant des siècles d’habitation et de taverne, portent les emblèmes des familles des voyageurs illustres provenant de toute l’Europe, qui séjournèrent à Giornico pendant leur pérégrination le long de la “Via delle Genti”.

En sortant du musée on tourne à gauche; un peu plus loin se trouvent deux anciens ponts en dos d’âne, depuis lesquels on a une belle vue sur l’îlot habité, délimité par la ramification fluviale. Il abrite aussi un traditionnel grotto très pittoresque. Après avoir franchi le deuxième pont on tourne à gauche en prenant une gracieuse ruelle, avec la rivière d’un côté et les vignobles de l’autre. Celle-ci conduit à la magnifique église San Nicola du XIIe siècle.

Son architecture essentielle et rigoureuse fait de cette église l’un des témoignages les plus représentatifs du style roman au Tessin. Elle s’élève au milieu les vignes, en pierre grise, imposante, simple et noble. On admire le portail de la façade côté sud, avec les petites sculptures, la façade principale, la crypte et ses mystérieux chapiteaux, les fresques de l’abside et les fonts baptismaux à l’entrée.
Depuis le parvis on aperçoit, sur une colline à droite au-delà de la ligne ferroviaire, la remarquable église Santa Maria del Castello , connue pour son chœur entièrement décoré de fresques de 1448 (pour la visiter il faut récupérer les clés auprès de l'Osteria Giornico ou en appelant le 091 864 19 87). Sur la colline s’élevait aussi une vieille forteresse dont il ne reste que quelques ruines au pied de l’église.
Au-delà de l’église San Nicola se dresse la paroissiale dédiée à Saint Michel, qui conserve un intéressant autel nordique, à volets, du XVIe siècle.

La région de Giornico est aussi connue pour ses vignobles et ses grands vins. Il est conseillé de faire une courte halte à Rodai, à l’entrée sud du village (suivre les panneaux de signalisation); au pied de la montagne se trouve un groupe très pittoresque de grotti privés (typiques tavernes tessinoises) avec de belles pergolas.

Le Musée de Leventina


L’exposition permanente se trouve au premier et dans une partie du deuxième étage. Caractérisé par un regard anthropologique sur les thématiques présentées, un parcours interactif invite le visiteur à aborder des thèmes liés à l’identité et aux rituels, à l’aide d’objets, vidéos et reproductions audio.
Écouter dans la pénombre d’anciens témoignages, revivre la Belle Époque de Faido, passer en revue les amulettes pour le voyage, apprendre quel était le rôle de la femme en lisant les anciens statuts, prendre conscience des restrictions économiques de la vallée en traversant un couloir étroit qui mène à une salle dédiée à l’essor de la voie ferrée: voici quelques-unes des propositions qui font revivre au visiteur l’histoire de la Vallée Leventina et qui montrent comment elle est devenue la vallée que l’on connaît aujourd’hui. Le visiteur est invité, grâce à cet itinéraire, à affronter différentes questions dont les réponses sont à chercher dans les objets de la collection, qui proviennent tous de la région.

La visite se termine sur la terrasse panoramique, qui offre une vue magnifique sur la vallée, sur la rivière, sur l’église San Michele et sur l’église San Nicola. Après la visite du musée on apprécie davantage le paysage, avec un autre regard, mieux conscient des évènements qui ont transformé cet endroit.

À la sortie, dans la salle des conférences, on est surpris par une proposition très singulière, le "Totem Leventina", réalisé en collaboration avec la Radiotelevisione della Svizzera Italiana (RSI) et l’école universitaire professionnelle de la Suisse italienne (SUPSI). Il s’agit d’un projet de recherche et de visualisation des documents audiovisuels conservés dans les archives RSI et d’autres supports numériques produits par le Musée de Leventina. Très intéressant et novateur, il offre une qualité en harmonie avec le concept de médiation interactive que le musée veut donner au public.

PROMO


Pour compléter la journée