Centovallina Amazing Journey

Experience

According to Lonely Planet, the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway is one of the most beautiful in the world. It offers a slow train ride from Locarno to Domodossola, through Centovalli and the Vigezzo Valley. A unique experience that takes travelers on a scenic journey through deep gorges, wild mountains, rivers and waterfalls. During the two-hour trip, you’ll find yourself immersed amidst untamed nature, harmoniously interspersed with small, picturesque towns. A free audio guide, available from summer 2019, allows travelers to discover details and interesting facts, and to receive useful information about the entire route.

PROMO

Every year, the Centovalli railway, inaugurated in 1923, takes 150,000 passengers from Switzerland to Italy. The train covers a 52km route trundling over 83 bridges, and through 31 tunnels. Every season offers a diverse and evocative picture; from snowy scenery to flowering meadows; from autumnal colours to the intoxication of summer. The Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway is mentioned as one of the most beautiful in the world in the recent guide published by Lonely Planet, titled "Amazing Train Journeys"; a real ‘bible’ for lovers of scenic tourist train rides.

The Journey


The journey starts in Locarno. After travelling for about 20 minutes through the Terre di Pedemonte, you’ll reach the village of Intragna, where you can visit the Regional Museum of Centovalli and Pedemonte, which tells the story of the rigours of life in the valley in past centuries, the highest bell tower in Ticino (65m in height and 165 steps), the parish church and the 16th century Roman-style bridge. Between Intragna and Camedo, the route winds through the wild heart of Centovalli, crossing over several spectacular bridges along the valley, offering travelers a magnificent view of the surrounding scenery and picturesque villages perched on steep slopes.
After passing the customs in Camedo, you’ll find yourself in the breathtaking Vigezzo Valley. Nicknamed the valley of painters, its striking, pristine landscape includes dense woods and wide plains. The first village that you come to in Italy is Re, characterized by the imposing Basilica of Madonna del Sangue (Blood Madonna). Like the Sacred Calvary Mount of Domodossola and the Sanctuary of the Madonna del Sasso in Locarno, the Basilica of Madonna del sangue is visited by thousands of pilgrims every year. Just beyond Re, you’ll find the charming town of Santa Maria Maggiore, where you can enjoy a pleasant stroll, and visit the brand new "Casa del Profumo" (House of perfume), which celebrates the invention of Cologne Water created by an inhabitant of the Vigezzo Valley who emigrated to Germany. Another noteworthy attraction is the "Museo dello Spazzacamino" (Chimney Sweepers Museum), which pays tribute to the numerous youngsters, who travelled north in search of work during past centuries. Located just a short distance from the historic centre of Santa Maria Maggiore, the picturesque settlement of Craveggia, renowned for its magnificent gneiss roofs and original chimneys, can be accessed either on foot or by public transport.
A visit to Santa Maria Maggiore is a good opportunity to enjoy a top-notch meal at one of the restaurants in the valley, or make purchases from one of the area’s "botteghe" renowned for their delicious local enogastronomic specialties. The itinerary ends in Domodossola, in the heart of Piedmont’s Val d’Ossola, a beautiful town whose picturesque historic centre hosts a lively, traditional street market on Saturdays.

A trip on the Vigezzina-Centovalli Railway can be combined with excursions to destinations that can be accessed on foot or via the cable cars of Verdasio-Rasa, Monte Comino and Intragna-Pila-Costa.

PROMO

Restaurants nearby


To complete your day

Centovallina Amazing Journey

Expériences

Selon le guide Lonely Planet, le chemin de fer Vigezzina-Centovalli est parmis les plus beaux au monde. Ce train offre un voyage "lent", d'environs deux heures, entre Locarno et Domodossola, parcourant les vallées Centovalli et Vigezzo. Une expérience à la découverte d'un territoire diversifié, avec des gorges profondes et des montagnes sauvages, des rivières et des cascades; une nature imposante parsemée de charmants petits villages. Dans tous les trains internationaux, une audioguide gratuite permet aux voyageurs de découvrir les curiosités de la région et acquérir d'informations utiles sur le parcours.

PROMO

Le chemin de fer, inauguré en 1923, transporte chaque année 150'000 passagers entre la Suisse et l'Italie, sur un trajet de 52 kilomètres, comptant 83 ponts et 31 tunnels. Des paysages enneigés, aux prés fleuris, des couleurs de l'automne à la brise de l'été, chaque saison peint un tableau suggestif et différent. Dans le guide publié aux Etats-Unis par Lonely Planet, sous le titre "Amazing Train Journeys" - un véritable "bible" pour les passionnés de chemins de fer touristiques - le train Vigezzina-Centovalli figure parmis les plus beaux au monde.


Le voyage



Le voyage commence à Locarno. Après un trajet d'environs 20 minutes à travers la région des "Terre di Pedemonte" on arrive au village d'Intragna. Ici on peut visiter le Musée régional des Centovalli et du Pedemonte (dédié aux traditions de la vallée dans les siècles passés), le clocher plus haut du Tessin (65 mètre, 165 marches), l'église paroissiale et le pont romain du XVIe siècle. Entre Intragna et Camedo, le parcours serpente dans le coeur sauvage des Centovalli, traversant des ponts spectaculaires construits sur le fond de la vallée et offrant un panorama magnifique avec des pictoresques villages parsemés sur les flancs ripides.

Après la frontière de Camedo, on entre dans le Val Vigezzo, nommé aussi "val des peintres", avec son splendide paysage d'une nature sauvage, de forêts très épaisses et de grands plateaux. Le premier village qu'on trouve sur le territoire italien est Re, avec son imposante basilique de la "Madonna del sangue" (Vierge du sang), qui chaque année attire des miliers de pélerins, tout aussi comme le sanctuaire de la Madonna del Sasso à Locarno ou celui du Monte Calvario à Domodossola. Peu après Re on atteint la charmante localité de Santa Maria Maggiore, où l'on peut se promener dans les ruelles du centre historique et visiter la "Maison du parfum" qui célèbre la fameuse Eau de Cologne, créée par un habitant du Val Vigezzo qui avait émigré en Allemagne. Intéressant aussi le "Musée du Ramoneur", qui témoigne des nombreux jeunes du Val Vigezzo partis dans les siècles passées vers les pays du nord, à la recherche de travail. Pas loin du centre historique de Santa Maria Maggiore, à pieds ou avec les transport publics, on atteint Craveggia, une bourgade très suggestive avec les maisons aux toits de gneiss et ses originales cheminées.

A' Santa Maria Maggiore on peut aussi profiter de la visite pour gôuter un bon repas dans un restaurant ou pour acheter les produits typiques de la renommée gastronomie locale. L'itinéraire termine à Domodossola, cœur du Val d'Ossola (Piedmont), qui a gardé son beau centre historique, où chaque samedi se déroule un marché traditionnel très animé.

On peut combiner le voyage avec le train Vigezzina-Centovalli et des excursions vers des destinations accessibles à pieds ou par téléphériques (Verdasio-Rasa, Monte Comino et Intragna-Pila-Costa).

PROMO

Restaurants dans les alentours


Pour compléter la journée